|Address:||66, South Mall|
Number 66 had been home to the Munster Bank since 1867. The Munster & Leinster Bank was founded in 1885 and started to operate with 66 South Mall as its headquarters. By 1908 it became necessary to establish an office to meet the growing demands of Cork’s merchant and business community. In 1910 when Arthur Hill, a local Architect, won the competition to design the new Head Office of the Munster & Leinster Bank, the building was a terrace of four separate premises.
Opened in 1915, this protected structure you see today stands as one of the most impressive Edwardian banking halls in Ireland. Built by John Sisk & Son, the black and white chequered floor, marbled pillars and glazed dome are evidence of the elegant features of architecture at the start of the last century. War, revolutions, economic crashes and recoveries and many generations have come and gone. Between these walls, business and money matters have been discussed for over 100 years. All the saving, borrowing, lodging and withdrawing has helped keep this community moving.
AIB 66 South Mall, special features include the old Boardroom that was used for many Munster & Leinster Directors meetings from 1915 until the formation of AIB in the late 1960’s.