News »

Cork City Council elects new Lord Mayor

At the Annual Meeting of Cork City Council held on Friday 24th June 2011 Cllr Terry Shannon (FF) was elected Lord Mayor of Cork. 

Speaking on his election Cllr. Shannon stated:

“It is my firm intention to be a Lord Mayor for the entire city and all of the elected representatives. Our country and city currently face a crisis not only of an economic nature but also a crisis of confidence.  We must gather our resources, our ideas, our creativity and our strength and work together to serve the city to the best of our ability. The talent, quality and trust of the people we serve demands nothing less.”

The Lord Mayor Cllr. Shannon was elected Alderman in the South East Ward in the 1999 local elections and was returned at each subsequent local election, serving as Deputy Lord Mayor in 2007. He is the leader of the Fianna Fáil group on Cork City Council and  is a member of the Roads and Transportation , Finance , Planning and Development and Docklands Committees, and of the Planning and Development S.P.C. He is also vice-chairman of the City of Cork Vocational Education Committee and Chairman of its Audit Committee.

Having worked in the financial services industry for nearly 20 years, Cllr Shannon is now a full time public representative.

Cllr Tony Fitzgerald (FF) North West Ward was elected Deputy Lord Mayor.

Back to list