News » Archived News 2009

Freedom of the City conferred on Mr. Peter Barry

Barry Family at signing

Pictured in the Lord Mayor's Chamber before the conferring of the Freedom of the City on Mr. Peter Barry are (front row, seated l-r): Mrs Margaret Barry, Cllr. Dara Murphy, Lord Mayor of Cork, Mr Peter Barry, Mrs Tanya Murphy, Lady Mayoress. Included in photo are some members of the extended Barry family

On Friday June 11th 2010 the Freedom of the City of Cork was conferred on Mr. Peter Barry at a ceremony in the Concert Hall, City Hall, Cork at 3.00 p.m.

This follows from a proposal by the Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr. Dara Murphy on 26th April last to Cork City Council that Mr Barry be awarded this honour highlighting his lifelong dedication to the service of the citizens of Cork and of Ireland,  his business acumen and philanthropic endeavours, and  his steadfast commitment to achieving a peaceful and equitable solution in the North of Ireland .

Mr. Barry joins a distinguished list of former recipients which include:

Presidents of Ireland, past and present  and American Presidents Dr. Woodrow Wilson and John F. Kennedy. Others to be conferred in recent years include U.S. Senator George Mitchell , John Hume, Roy Keane & Sonia O'Sullivan, Michael Flatley, Albert Reynolds and Sir John Major , and last year’s recipients Dean Denis O Connor & Sr. Eucharia Buckley

Back to list