News » Archived News 2007

Lord Mayor Hosts Civic Reception for Bishopstown GAA - County Premier Intermediate and U21 Hurling Champions 2006

Bishopstown GAA 1

Lord Mayor Cllr. Michael Ahern making a presentation to Club Chairman, Cllr. Jerry Buttimer.

On 12th April 2007 the Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr. Michael Ahern, and Cork City Council  hosted a Civic Reception in the Council Chamber, City Hall, Cork, to honour Bishopstown GAA on winning the Cork County Premier Intermediate Hurling and U21A Hurling Championships 2006.

The Lord Mayor began by paying tribute to the manager and selectors of both teams for their achievements.  “Excellence does not come overnight.  You and your committees at all levels have worked hard over many years to make your  club a force to be reckoned with at senior level and you have by these victories shown  that you are on course to achieve that status.  Few people who know anything about hurling would exclude your club from a list of probable senior county championship winners over the next few years”. 

Given that the Lord Mayor lives in close proximity, Cllr Ahern mentioned he was in a better position than most to observe their training and practice …

“ Living as I do overlooking your training pitches I continually see the volume and quality of the preparation that goes into your teams and it is of little wonder to me that you have been so successful. Your contribution to the Bishopstown area is very much appreciated. Your teams draw support from a wide cross section of the community.  Your winning teams generate a positive community spirit in the area”. 

The Lord Mayor also paid tribute to the Ladies Section and the Football Section of the club and wished them well in their 50th anniversary year. 

Presentations were made by the Lord Mayor to Cllr. Jerry Buttimer, Chairman, Bishopstown GAA, to Ronan Conway, the Premier Intermediate Team Captain and to Shane O’Neill, the U21 Captain.

 Bishopstown GAA 2

Back row L to R: Chairman, Bishopstown GAA, Cllr. Jerry Buttimer and Lord Mayor Cllr. Michael Ahern. Front row L to R: U21 Captain, Shane O’Neill and Premier Intermediate Captain, Ronan Conway.

Back to list