Primary Science Quiz a huge sucesss

After eight rounds of questions a pin could be heard dropping as the 6th class team from Scoil Mhuire Ballincollig were declared worthy winners of the 2022 Lifetime Lab Primary Science Quiz. The winning teams were presented with prizes by Deputy Lord Mayor Cllr. Derry Canty. Our thanks to all the school teams, parents and teachers for participating on what was a super night for primary science in Cork.

Winners Lifetime Lab Primary Science Quiz 2022
Deputy Lord Mayor Cllr. Derry Canty with Scoil Mhuire Ballincollig pupils Kira Sorokina, Marta Calyja and Emma Ni Shuilleabhain winners of the 2022 Lifetime Lab Primary Science Quiz. Images by Darragh Kane.

Winners on the evening were as follows:

  • Overall Winners - Scoil Mhuire Ballincollig
  • 6th Class Section - Cloghroe National School 
  • 5th Class Section - St. Josephs National School Skibbereen, Rathduff National School, Cloghroe National School (3 way tie for first place)
  • 4th Class Section - Vicarstown National School 

A large crowd of family, friends and teachers watched on in anticipation as 60 teams from primary schools all over Cork tested their knowledge in all things science with a particular emphasis put on sustainability this year. Our thanks to all our event team, the volunteers on the evening, the Department of Chemistry, UCC and the Royal Society of Chemistry. 

Crowd Shot Primary Science Quiz
Participating teams in deep concentration at the 2022 Primary Science Quiz