MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING OF CORK CITY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 24th JULY 2023

PRESENT Ardmhéara Comhairleoir K. McCarthy.

NORTH EAST Comhairleoirí J. Maher, T. Tynan, O. Moran.

NORTH WEST Comhairleoirí T. Fitzgerald, M. Nugent, J. Sheehan, K. Collins,

D. Boylan.

SOUTH EAST Comhairleoirí D. Cahill, L. Bogue, M.R. Desmond, T. Shannon, D.

Forde.

SOUTH CENTRAL Comhairleoirí M. Finn, D. Boyle, S. Martin, S. O'Callaghan, P.

Dineen, F. Kerins.

SOUTH WEST Comhairleoirí F. Dennehy, D. Canty, C. Finn, C. Kelleher, G. Kelleher,

T. Moloney.

ALSO PRESENT Ms. A. Doherty, Chief Executive.

Mr. B. Geaney, Deputy Chief Executive.

Mr. P. Moynihan, Director of Services, Corporate Affairs &

International Relations

Ms. R. Loughry, Acting Director of Services, Community,

Culture & Placemaking.

Mr. F. Reidy, Director of Services, Strategic Planning &

Economic Development.

Mr. D. Spillett, Acting Chief Fire Officer.

Mr. P. O'Hare, Assistant Chief Fire Officer.

Mr. V. Shine, Second Fire Officer. Mr. G. Myers, Third Fire Officer.

Ms. N. Stewart, Meetings Administrator.

Ms. M. Meehan, Staff Officer, Corporate Affairs & International

Relations.

APOLOGIES Comhairleoirí K. O'Flynn, J. Kavanagh.

An tArdmhéara recited the opening prayer.

RESOLUTION SUBMITTED UNDER SECTION 140 OF THE LOCAL 1. **GOVERNMENT ACT (2001)**

An Chomhairle considered the resolution contained in the notice submitted under Section 140 of the Local Government Act (2001):-

'That Cork City Council resolves to re-open the Ballincollig fire station immediately with a full-time fire service while maintaining current staffing levels elsewhere.'

On the proposal of Comhairleoir L. Bogue, seconded by Comhairleoir M. Nugent, a vote was called for on the approval of the resolution where there appeared as follows:-

FOR: Comhairleoirí T. Tynan, M. Nugent, K. Collins, L. Bogue, F. Kerins. (5)

AGAINST: Comhairleoirí O. Moran, T. Fitzgerald, J. Sheehan, D. Boylan, D. Cahill, M.R. Desmond, K. McCarthy, T. Shannon, D. Forde, M. Finn, D. Boyle, S. Martin, S. O'Callaghan, P. Dineen, F. Dennehy, C. Finn, G. Kelleher, T. Moloney. (18)

ABSTAIN: Comhairleoirí J. Maher, D. Canty, C. Kelleher. (3)

As those voting against the resolution were greater than those voting for, An tArdmhéara declared the vote and the resolution defeated.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

ARDMHÉARA CATHAOIRLEACH