Your Council

In an Action Programme for the Millennium, the Government set out its commitment to the restoration of real decision – making and power to local authorities and local people. An important step in this direction was the proposal to establish policy centered Strategic Policy Committees (SPC) and Corporate Policy Groups (CPG) within each city and county authority. SPCs will prepare the groundwork for policies, which will then be decided upon by City Council.  Membership of Committees

 

Cork City Council has 31 Elected Members divided into 6 Electoral Areas.

In an Action Programme for the Millennium, the Government set out its commitment to the restoration of real decision – making and power to local authorities and local people. An important step in this direction was the proposal to establish policy centered Strategic Policy Committees (SPC) and Corporate Policy Groups (CPG) within each city and county authority. SPCs will prepare the groundwork for policies, which will then be decided upon by City Council.  Membership of Committees

Under the Management Acts, the functions of local authorities are divided into two classes - Reserved Functions, performable directly by the elected members, and Executive Functions, performed by the city or county manager by order. While the law must make an exact division of functions (so that responsibility for their exercise may be clearly defined) it was never the intention that the elected members and the manager should operate independently of each other. The fact that the executive functions are assigned to the manager is simply intended to provide the elected council with an experienced, whole-time administrator for the prompt and efficient discharge of day-to-day business without making an undue demand on the time of the elected members. The manager is an officer of the county council or county borough corporation; he is appointed by them on the recommendation of the Local Appointments Commission and he may be suspended by them or removed from office with the consent of the Minister. Further information on the Management System.

CORK CITY COUNCIL ELECTED COUNCILLORS From 01/06/2014

Cork City North-East

 

Party

Telephone     

Email

 

Cllr. Stephen Cunningham, 189 Silversprings Court, Tivoli, Cork.

 Stephen Cunningham

 

SF

 

087 664 3775

 

Stephen_Cunningham@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Ted Tynan, 155 Silversprings Lawn, Tivoli, Cork

 Ted Tynan

 

WP

 

021 450 3481

086 190 8281

 

ted_tynan@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Tim Brosnan, 7 St. Christopher’s Road, Montenotte, Cork.

 Tim Brosnan

 

FF

 

021 4504326/

086-6079030

 

timbrosnan@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Joe Kavanagh, Carrigmore, Middle Glanmire Road, Cork

 Joe Kavanagh

 

FG

 

086 230 7507

 

joe_kavanagh@corkcity.ie

Cork City North-Central

 

Party

Telephone

Email

 

Cllr. Thomas Gould, 121 Cathedral Road, Gurranabraher, Cork .

 Thomas Gould

 

SF

 

 

087 302 1551

021 421 2028

 

thomas_gould@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Mick Barry, 6 Seminary Villas, Blackpool, Cork .

 Mick Barry

 

AAA

 

021 450 2681

087 205 2722

 

mick_barry@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Kenneth Noel O’ Flynn, Kilnap, Old Mallow Road, Blackpool, Cork .

 Kenneth o Flynn

 

FF

 

086 737 3356

021 421 1200

 

ken@kenoflynn.com

 

Cllr. Lil O’ Donnell, 38 Blarney Street, Cork .

 Lil O Donnell

 

AAA

 

085 812 2889

 

lil_odonnell@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. John Sheehan, 83 Thomas Davis Street, Blackpool, Cork.

 JOhn Sheehan

 

FF

 

087 228 2963

 

john_sheehan@corkcity.ie

Cork City North-West

 

Party

Telephone

Email

 

Deputy Lord Mayor, Cllr. Mick Nugent, 98 Ardcullen, Hollyhill, Cork.

 Mick Nugent

 

SF

 

021 431 1389

087 675 5793

 

micknugent1@hotmail.com

 

Cllr. Tony Fitzgerald, The Bungalow, Harbour View Road, Hollyhill, Cork.

 Tony Fitzgerald

 

FF

 

021 430 2032

 

tony_fitzgerald@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Kenneth Collins, 149 Farranferris Avenue, Farranree, Cork.

 Kenneth Collins

 

SF

 

087 929 3904

 

kenneth_collins@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Marion O’ Sullivan, 38 Hollymount, Harbour View Road, Cork .

 ‌Marion O Sullivan

 

AA

 

086 895 3872

 

marion.osullivan@yahoo.ie

Cork City South-East

 

Party

Telephone

Email

 

Cllr. Kieran McCarthy, Richmond Villa, Douglas Road, Cork.

 Kieran McCarthy

 

NP

 

087 655 3389

 

kieran_mccarthy@corkcity.ie

 

Ardmhéara, Cllr. Chris O’ Leary, 17 Loughmahon Road, Mahon, Cork.

 Chris O Leary

 

SF

 

021 435 7570

 

chrisjoleary@gmail.com

 

Cllr. Des Cahill, 5 Maryville, Ballintemple, Cork .

 Des Cahill

 

FG

 

087 280 1490

021 429 2084

021 429 1343

 Des_cahill@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Laura McGonigle, 9 Kilbrack Grove, Skehard Road, Blackrock, Cork.

 Laura McGonigle

 

FG

 

086 082 9371

 

lauramcgonigle@gmail.com

 

Cllr. Terry Shannon, 33 Lake Lawn, Well Road, Douglas, Cork .

 Terry Shannon

 

FF

 

021 436 4385

 

tshannon@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Nicholas O’ Keeffe, 57 Meadowgrove Estate, Convent Road, Blackrock, Cork.

Nicholas O keeffe

 

FF

 

087 230 7967

 

nicholas_okeeffe@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Shane O’ Shea,37 Moss Lane, Riverway, South Douglas Road, Cork.

 Shane O Shea

 

SF

 

086 080 4493

 

 shanegaoshea@yahoo.com

Cork City South-Central

 

Party

Telephone

Email

 

Cllr. Mick Finn, 6 Annmount, Friars Walk, Cork .

 Mick Finn

 

NP

 

086 194 0126

 

mick_finn@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Fiona Kerins, 25 Hillview Estate, Ballyphehane, Cork .

 Fiona Kerins

 

SF

 

021 431 1389

 

fiona_kerins@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Paudie Dineen, 31 Quaker Road, Cork.

 Paudie Dineen

 

NP

 

086 0269266

 

Paudie_Dineen@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Tom O’ Driscoll, 95 Fr. Dominic Road, Ballyphehane, Cork.

 Tom O Driscoll

 

FF

 

021 431 7190

086 232 0431

 

tomodriscoll1@eircom.net

 

Cllr. Sean Martin, 9 Heatherton Park, South Douglas Road, Turners Cross, Cork.

 Sean Martin

 

FF

 

021 436 6665

087 290 8298

 

smartin@corkcity.ie

Cork City South-West

 

Party

Telephone

Email

 

Cllr. John Buttimer, 25 Benvoirlich Estate, Bishopstown, Cork.

 John Buttimer

 

FG

 

087 638 4381

 

john_buttimer@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Henry Cremin, 36 Greenfields, Parkway Drive, Model Farm Road, Cork .

 Henry Cremin

 

SF

 

086 266 2874

 

henry_cremin@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Mary Shields, 48 Halldene Avenue, Bishopstown, Cork .

 Mary Shields

 

FF

 

021 454 4486

 

mshields@corkcity.ie

 

Cllr. Fergal Dennehy, “Pallasmore”, 35 Deanwood Avenue, Togher, Cork.

 Fergal Dennehy

 

FF

 

087 299 9337

021 431 9551

 

fergaldennehy@gmail.com

 

Cllr. P.J. Hourican, 20 Fremont Drive, Melbourn, Bishopstown, Cork .

 PJ Hourican

 

FG

 

087 256 5481

 

 hourican.pj@gmail.com

 

Cllr. Thomas Moloney, 18 Elm Road, Togher, Cork .

 Thomas Moloney

 

NP

 

087 332 2257

 

Thomas_Moloney@corkcity.ie