Services » ICT & Business Services

Projects relating to the Public

The Information Systems (I.S.)  department is largely a support function for the Information Communications Technology (ICT) utilised by Cork City Council along with developing and maintaining fifteen websites and a number of online services. However on occassion we get involved in projects with a direct impact on the public of Cork and below are some examples of this work.

Flooding Event November 2009

 

On November 17th 2009 Cork experienced a server flooding event. Information Systems staff provided key services including SMS alerting to schedule Crisis Managment team meetings. We also provided live video streaming of Garda video camera to allow the crisis team review and monitor the flooding damage across the City. The I.S. team also setup an incident room Call Centre and a dedicated Free Phone number to assist citizens who were victims of flooding and water shortages.

The City Council’s website www.corkcity.ie provided an extremely important communications channel, which was used to convey a lot of information to the citizens of Cork during the flooding civic emergency (November 2009). Frequent news items regarding the availability of the Cork City water supply were posted to the City Council website.

The table below indicates the rise in demand on the website during the flooding and water shortage crises.

 

Date

Visitors

Pages viewed

Thursday,19 Nov 2009

1,929

5,393

Friday, 20 Nov 2009

12,345

40,188

Saturday, 21 Nov 2009

13,223

43,088

Sunday, 22 Nov 2009

11,381

37,125

Monday, 23 Nov 2009

12,241

43,437

Tuesday, 24 Nov 2009

10,238

34,932

Wednesday, 25 Nov 2009

8,565

28,093

Thursday, 26 Nov 2009

5,975

19,272

Friday, 27 Nov 2009

6,738

21,160

Saturday, 28 Nov 2009

5,232

14,863

Sunday, 29 Nov 2009

4,726

12,421

Monday, 30 Nov 2009

4,824

13,189

Tuesday, 1 Dec 2009

3,917

10,864

Wednesday, 2 Dec 2009

3,766

10,461

Thursday, 3 Dec 2009

3,308

8,505

Friday, 4 Dec 2009

3,284

8,973

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009

1,787

4,483

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009

1,294

3,407

Total

114,773

359,854

Chad and Discovery Week 2009

 

During Discovery Week 2009 held in City Hall, the I.S. department in conjunction with the Department of Defence setup a live video link to army personnel based in Chad. Traffic was routed throught the eGovernment IP network to the Headquarters of the Department of Defence. This facilitated families to interact with loved ones serving in Chad along with students, who were able to question service personnel on army life.

Link to Poland

 

A library exhibition called “My Feelings by Maja”  was faciliated by I.S. via a live video linkup between Bishopstown Library and Gdansk held on June 2nd 2010. It allowed students from both cities to interacts and share experiences. A large contigent from the Polish community also attended and availed of the opportunity to talk to loved ones in Poland.