News » Archived News 2008

Lord Mayor’s Civic Awards 2008


Seated L to R: Dr. Patrick Galvin, Lady Mayoress Breda Counihan, Lord Mayor Cllr. Donal Counihan, Helen Prout, Dr. James Donovan.  

Standing L to R: Tony Healy, Dominick Leahy, Michael Mulcahy, Mary Hegarty, Pat Falvey.

At a special function held in City Hall on Thursday, 24/4/08, attended by over 400 people, the Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr. Donal Counihan, announced the recipients of the 2008 Civic Awards.

Speaking at the function, the Lord Mayor said “I am honoured to bestow a Civic Award on individuals whom I feel have made a valuable contribution to the city.  These Awards recognize individuals for their outstanding work or an achievement of special commendation.”

Each recipient was presented with a framed scroll and an engraved silver medallion.  The recipients were:

*        Mary Hegarty – in recognition of her immense contribution to the art of musical entertainment

*        Dominick Leahy – in recognition of his exceptional contribution to youth development over the past thirty eight years.

*        Michael Mulcahy – in recognition of his contribution to the promotion of Cork through business

*         Tony Healy – in recognition of his immense contribution to the Community Games Movement over the past thirty five years

*        Dr. James Donovan – in recognition of his outstanding bravery and his enormous contribution to public service

*       Helen Prout – in recognition of her singular contribution to the encouragement and promotion of the art of film making among young people

*        Dr. Patrick Galvin – in recognition of his immense contribution to the literary and artistic life in Cork as a poet, playwright, singer, songwriter and screenwriter.

  *       The Beyond Endurance Team – Pat Falvey, Dr. Clare O’Leary, Jonathan Bradshaw and Shaun Menzies – in recognition of their achievement in reaching the South Pole as members of the ‘Beyond Endurance Expedition’

The winners of the Community and Voluntary Awards 2008 were also announced at the function and presentations were made to the winners and runners-up in each of the five categories. (See 'Lord Mayor's Community and Voluntary Awards 2008' on Latest News & Events).

Musical entertainment was provided by the Band of The First Southern Brigade, under Conductor of the Band, Lieutenant Brian Prendergast.   Musical entertainment at the Reception which followed was provided by musicians Johnny McCarthy, Con ‘Fada’ Ó Drisceoil and Ger Kelleher.


Back to list