News » Archived News 2007

Japanese author wins 2006 Frank O’ Connor International Short Story Award

Japanese Author Haruki Murakami is the winner of the 2006 Frank O’ Connor International Short Story Award. Murakami, a Japanese author who has spent most of his time living abroad won for his collection Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman (translated by Philip Gabriel and Jay Rubin). The award was accepted on his behalf by his translator, Jay Rubin, at the award ceremony in The Millennium Hall, City Hall Cork, last night (Sunday September 24th 2006).

The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award is an annual award of €35,000 and as such, it is currently the world's richest prize for the short story form. The award is in memory of the late Frank O'Connor, one of the world's most renowned short story writers. The award is presented in O'Connor's hometown of Cork city, Ireland. It is organised by the Munster Literature Centre and funded by Cork City Council. The award goes to the author of the book judged to be the best collection of stories published in English for the first time anywhere in the world in the twelve months between October of one year and September of the next. If a translated book wins, the purse is shared equally between the author and translator.
This is the second year of the award, having first been held as part of Cork’s designation as European Capital of Culture in 2005.
Others on the Shortlist included :

Notes from a Turkish Whorehouse - Philip O Ceallaigh
The First Hurt - Rachel Sherman
In Strange Gardens & other Stories - Peter Stamm (translated by Michael Hoffman)
The Darkness of Wallis Simpson - Rose Tremain
The Royal Ghosts - Samrat Upadhyay

Press Release Dated 25th September 2006.


Back to list