News » Archived News 2006

Archive News 2006 Cork City Council Approve Conferring Of Freedom Of The City On Mary McAleese, President Of Ireland

The Freedom of the City of Cork will be conferred on President Mary McAleese, Uachtarán na hÉireann at a special ceremony in City Hall, Cork at 3.00 p.m. on Tuesday May 30th 2006.

At its meeting on Monday, May 8th, Cork City Council approved a resolution submitted by the Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr. Deirdre Clune, to confer the Freedom of the City on President McAleese .

The resolution recommended the granting of the Freedom of the City of Cork:

  • In recognition of her leadership in promoting greater understanding and building bridges between all the peoples of the island,
  • In recognition of being the first woman to attain a second term in the highest office in the land, that of Uachtarán na hEireann,
  • In recognition of her outstanding personal and academic achievements, and as a token of the high esteem in which she is held by the people of Cork.

President McAleese is the fourth President of Ireland to be conferred with the honour, Freedom of the City having previously been granted to Mary Robinson, Eamonn de Valera and Douglas Hyde, though in the case of Douglas Hyde the honour was granted in 1906, some 32 years before he became President in recognition of his work as a journalist in the revival of the Irish language.


Back to list